top of page

Are You Sweet or Sour?


Sweet or Sour? And I am not talking about Chinese food here. What do others think about when they think of you? I have a friend that I LOVE to be around. She has the sweetest disposition. She encourages and never has a negative thing to say about her circumstances or other people. She always praises the Lord for the things He does, and gives God honor and glory. Then I have another friend, who I love dearly, but sometimes I dread being around her. Although she is a sweet person overall, she can often have a sour attitude about her life and her circumstances. I know that we all have our moments, and there are times we need to talk seriously about things going on. I am not talking about that. I’m talking about your overall testimony. What do people think about when they think of you? Paul writes to the Philippian church while he is under house arrest in Rome. The things that he writes to these people just touches my heart. He says in chapter 1 verse 3, “I thank my God upon every remembrance of you.” What an awesome thing to be said about you!!! He goes on to say in verses 4 and 5 that he is making his requests with joy and how thankful he is for the fellowship that God has allowed him with this group of people. How many people can say this about you personally? What do people think about when they think of you? More important even than your attitude about life is your testimony. Paul writes in Philippians 1:27, “Only let your conversation be as it becometh the gospel of Christ: that whether I come and see you, or else be absent, I may hear of your affairs, that ye stand fast in one spirit, with one mind striving together for the faith of the gospel.”

Let me tell you about aninfluence in my life. My grandmother, who has gone home to be with the Lord, was always someone that I admired. I was close with her while growing up. I would go to yard sales, flea markets, stores, etc. with her and my grandfather. Here is the one thing I remember. Every place we went my grandmother was a witness. She would ask people if she could tell them about the Lord. She would ask them if they were going to heaven when they died. Her boldness impressed me because I didn't possess that as she did. What a wonderful thing for me to remember as I grow older and try to be an influence on the next generation. It’s such a sweet memory to me. So, what do people think about when they think of you? Do they think of you as an encourager or a witness for the Lord? Or do they think of you as worry wart and discourager? If the latter is true, this is something that you can change right now. Dear Lord, I pray that as others read through this devotion that it will touch their hearts as it did mine. Only through you and your word can we become true encouragers and have a testimony for you. I am so thankful for all you have done for me, but most of all I thank you for your Son who you sent to die for me. In Jesus name I pray, Amen!


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page